Asia Pacific

About the region
The term 'Asia Pacific' become popular in the late 1980's in commerce, finance, and politics. It comprises the broader regions of Asia and Oceania. Within these two regions it can be further broken down as follows:

  • East Asia
  • Southeast Asia
  • North Asia (Siberia)
  • South Asia

  • Oceania
  • Australasia
  • Melanesia
  • Micronesia
  • Polynesia

  • Map of Asia Pacific region

    Map of the Asia Pacific region showing the major countries/territories


    East Asia

  • China
  • Hong Kong (CN)
  • Japan
  • Mongolia
  • North Korea
  • South Korea
  • Taiwan

    South East Asia

  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • Christmas Island (AU)
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands (AU)
  • Indonesia
  • Laos
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Vietnam

    Far East Asia (Siberia)

  • Russian Far East (RU)

    South Asia

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • British Indian Ocean Territory (UK)
  • India
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka


  • Australia
  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands
  • Coral Sea Islands
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands
  • New Zealand


  • Fiji
  • New Caledonia (FR)
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Solomon Islands
  • Vanuatu


  • Guam (US)
  • Kiribati
  • Marshall Islands
  • Micronesia, Federated States of
  • Nauru
  • Northern Mariana Islands (US)
  • Palau
  • Wake Island (US)


  • American Samoa (US)
  • Cook Islands (US)
  • Easter Island (CL)
  • French Polynesia (FR)
  • Hawaii (US)
  • Niue (NZ)
  • Norfolk Island (AU)
  • Pitcairn Islands (UK)
  • Salas y Gomez Island (CL)
  • Samoa
  • Tokelau (NZ)
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Wallis and Futuna (FR)
  • The population of Asia Pacific is in excess of 4.7 billion which represents approximately 60 % of the world population, due largely to the two largest countries in the world, China and India, being part of the region.

    Asia Pacific News

    A significant free trade agreement was implemented between 15 of the Asia Pacific nations in November 2020. The world's biggest trade deal in terms of GDP, the member nations of Australia, Brunei, Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and Vietnam believe it will drive economic growth in the region. Referred to as the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP), the agreement was signed on Sunday 14 November 2020. The pact lowers tariffs, opens up the service sector and sets common trade rules within the bloc. The agreement covers trade, services, investment, e-commerce, telecommunications and copyright. The China-backed agreement is seen as a replacement and expanded version of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), a now-defunct trade initiative.